MSMC Forums  

Go Back   MSMC Forums > Discussion > Moto News

Thread Tools
Old January 8th, 2018, 01:40 PM   #1
MSMC NewsBot
All the news that's fit to excerpt...
MSMC NewsBot's Avatar
Name: News
Location: in bitland

Motorcycle(s): virtual

Posts: 147,942
[] - Marvin Musquin and Shane McElrath are your AMA Supercross Anaheim

Anaheim 1 started off with a bang. Marvin Musquin has continued his win streak by adding another first place finish at the opening round of Monster Energy AMA Supercross. Jason Anderson of Rockstar Energy Husqvarna and Justin Barcia of Monster Energy/Knich/Yamaha rounded out the 450SX podium after Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac had a small crash that resulted in a shoulder injury that prohibited him from finishing the race after taking the holeshot and leading a few laps.

Shane McElrath dominated the 250SX main event by taking the holeshot and leading every lap to his first place finish. He was followed by Aaron Plessinger and Adam Cianciarulo, who took second and third. What an opening night!

Begin Press Release:

ANAHEIM, CA – January 7, 2018 – Feld Entertainment® announced that Marvin Musquin won the opening round of the Monster Energy Supercross, an FIM World Championship, in front of 45,050 fans at Angel Stadium in Anaheim, California on January 6.

KTM Factory Racing’s Musquin fought his way to the front of the pack after a fifth place start in the 450SX Main Event. One by one, Musquin picked off each of his competitors to lead 14 of the 24 laps.

“To win tonight definitely was not expected,” Musquin said. “It was a difficult day, but I tried to stay calm, and I guess we made it happen.”

Musquin, the million-dollar winner of the 2017 Monster Energy Cup, was joined by Rockstar Energy Husqvarna’s Jason Anderson and Monster Energy/Knich/Yamaha Factory Racing’s Justin Barcia on the podium, the first for Barcia since 2014. Anderson, who started sixth, charged through the pack to claim second ahead of Barcia.

450SX Class Podium | Photo: Feld Entertainment, Inc.

For Team Honda HRC’s Ken Roczen, last year’s Anaheim 450SX Class winner who has not raced since Anaheim 2 in 2017, came out swinging after a 12th place start and climbed to fourth by the checkers.

Ken Roczen made his highly-anticipated return in Anaheim. | Photo: Feld Entertainment, Inc.

Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Eli Tomac, winner of nine Main Events in 2017, found the holeshot and lead for seven laps until a mishap eventually forced him out of the competition.

In the Western Regional 250SX Class, Troy Lee Designs Red Bull KTM’s Shane McElrath earned his second consecutive Anaheim 1 win after qualifying first, taking the holeshot and leading all 18 laps of the Main Event.

“This is a big year,” McElrath said at the post-race press conference. “The West Coast has got a lot of competition from a lot of teams, too. I’ve never really felt that much nerves.”

Shane McElrath captured his second consecutive Anaheim Opener 250SX win. | Photo: Feld Entertainment, Inc.

Yamalube Star Racing Yamaha’s Aaron Plessinger also captured his second consecutive second place finish at Anaheim 1 after a fourth place start. Third place went to second-fastest qualifier Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki’s Adam Cianciarulo in his first career Anaheim start.

Monster EnergySupercross 450SX Class Results
  1. Marvin Musquin, Clermont, Fla. (26)
  2. Jason Anderson, Rio Rancho, N.M. (23)
  3. Justin Barcia, Greenville, Fla. (21)
  4. Ken Roczen, Clermont, Fla. (19)
  5. Weston Peick, Menifee, Calif. (18)
  6. Cole Seely, Newbury Park, Calif. (17)
  7. Justin Brayton, Mint Hill, N.C. (16)
  8. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich. (15)
  9. Joshua Grant, Wildomar, Calif. (14)
  10. Cooper Webb, Newport, N.C. (13)
Monster Energy Supercross Western Regional 250SX Class Results
  1. Shane McElrath, Canton, N.C. (26)
  2. Aaron Plessinger, Hamilton, Ohio (23)
  3. Adam Cianciarulo, New Smyrna, Fla. (21)
  4. Joey Savatgy, Thomasville, Ga. (19)
  5. Christian Craig, Orange, Calif. (18)
  6. Mitchell Oldenburg, Alvord, Texas (17)
  7. Justin Hill, Yoncalla, Ore. (16)
  8. Chase Sexton, Clermont, Fla. (15)
  9. Justin Cooper, Huntington, N.Y. (14)
  10. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla. (13)
For more information on the Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, please log onto, the official website of Monster Energy Supercross, or follow via social channels:

Marvin Musquin and Shane McElrath are your AMA Supercross Anaheim 1 Winners appeared first on News.

Click here for full story...
I'm a bot. I don't need no stinkin' signature...
MSMC NewsBot is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[] - Marvin Musquin And Alexander Frye Named 2016 AMA Supercross Rookie MSMC NewsBot Moto News 0 May 19th, 2016 05:34 PM
[] - Supercross: Shane McElrath To Step Up To 450 Class MSMC NewsBot Moto News 0 March 31st, 2015 02:39 AM
[] - Supercross: Marvin Musquin Does It Again In St. Louis MSMC NewsBot Moto News 0 March 30th, 2015 12:29 AM
[] - Supercross: Marvin Musquin Out With Injury MSMC NewsBot Moto News 0 December 18th, 2013 10:51 AM
[] - Supercross: Marvin Musquin Crowned King Of Geneva MSMC NewsBot Moto News 0 December 10th, 2013 01:58 PM

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:26 PM.

Powered by vBulletin
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Except where otherwise noted, all site contents are © Copyright 2013 Montgomery Street Motorcycle Club, All rights reserved.